you're reading...

Colorado Theatre Guild Announces Special Henry Award Winners

Along with the full list of annual awards (complete listing of this year’s nominees can be found here), the Colorado Theatre Guild gives away special awards in different categories each year to honor excellence in realms of theatre outside of the normal performance/production box. This year the categories were Outstanding Regional Theatre, Outstanding Fight Direction, Outstanding Production of Children’s Theatre, and of course the Lifetime Achievement Award. Nominations for these four awards are submitted by the theatre community and chosen by the CTG Board of Directors based upon those submissions.

The 2010-2011 CTG Henry Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre goes toOpenStage Theatre & Company

Since its inception in 1973, OpenStage has actively produced and promoted live performing arts in Northern Colorado, making it one of the longest-practicing and most renowned theatrical producers in the state. In addition to being the foremost local producer at the Fort Collins Lincoln Center, the city’s primary performance space, OpenStage is a major figure in the statewide arts producing community.

Recipient of the Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts, commendation by the Colorado State Legislature and the City of Fort Collins and the CCTC Distinguished Merit Award, OpenStage Theatre is a constituent member of Theatre Communications Group, the national association of professional not-for-profit theatres. Excellence, discipline, and artistic integrity are the principles that continue to guide OpenStage.


2010-2011 CTG Henry Award for Outstanding Fight Direction goes to Geoffrey Kent.

Geoffrey Kent is a fight director, actor, stage combat teacher and director based out of Denver, Colorado and is currently the President of the Society of American Fight Directors, the largest organization of stage combatants in the world. He is the resident fight director for the Denver Center Theatre Company and the Colorado Shakespeare Festival and has worked as an instructor of stage combat in three countries and coast to coast within the United States.

2010-2011 CTG Henry Award for Outstanding Production of Children’s Theatre goes to

Northglenn Youth Theatre for their production of “The Sound of Music.”

The Northglenn Youth Theatre (NYT) has been providing youth the opportunity to produce professional live theatrical shows since 1994. Each year, NYT mounts three large productions performed at the D.L. Parsons Theatre. NYT has received numerous local and national awards, and has had over 800 participants!

The mission of NYT is to strive to provide youth in our community the opportunity to explore the world of theatrical performance through professional instruction and hands-on experience, all the while encouraging children to expand their talents and cultivate a life-long love for the arts.

2010-2011 CTG Henry Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theatre honors Joey Wishnia.

Joey Wishnia was educated at Rhodes University and received a Teaching Diploma (Licentiate) in Speech and Drama from Trinity College, London.

He has worked in practically every facet of the entertainment industry, having been actor, director, teacher and appeared in music hall, opera, cabaret, revues, movies, TV and many radio dramas, serials and soap operas.

He has written scripts for children’s theatre, devised and appeared in four one-man shows and developed several educational programs aimed at encouraging children to read. He is also a story-teller whose script,Stories Small, a program of African folk-tales from all cultures, was performed at the ‘Blooming Lights Festival’ at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens in New York in December, 1999.

In 1993, he was the recipient of a special award for his contribution to children’s theatre in South Africa. He came to the United States in 1993 and quickly established himself in Denver, Colorado as actor and director concentrating on classical theatre.

Colorado Theatre Guild will host the 6thAnnual Henry Awards – Celebrating Excellence in Colorado Theatre in the Stage Theatre at the Denver Performing Arts Complex. Named for Guild founder Henry Lowenstein, father of Denver theatre, the Henry’s honor outstanding contributions to Denver area theatre. The ceremony will be directed by theatre luminary Jim Hunt and emceed by the lovable company members of Buntport Theatre. A cocktail reception is at 6 p.m., the ceremony begins at 7 p.m. Tickets are $20 – $50. Information, along with a complete list of nominees, and tickets are available online atwww.coloradotheatreguild.org.


No comments yet.

Tell us what YOU SAID!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Top Recent Posts

Follow us on Twitter

Enter your email and receive alerts of new posts.

Join 2,394 other followers

%d bloggers like this: